A La Mode Dahlias

Maybe it is the name that attracts me…personally I like ice cream and I like baked goods but I have always been partial to any baked good served with ice cream– a la mode

Dahlias do not travel well.  I only use them when they are available locally, most years they are at their best in the DC area from August through mid October.  Most of the dahlias I use are from Wollam Gardens.  I use as many as possible, especially these bi-color white and orange a la modes, while they are available.

This entry was published on September 16, 2011 at 11:15 am and is filed under farming, flowers, garden, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A La Mode Dahlias

  1. Dahlias are the most marvelously bawdy and fun ladies at any party. Love them!!

Leave a Reply

